Midwest is Best

A midwestern guide to all things homemaking

Busy, Busy, Busy

Busy, busy, busy… isn’t that everyone’s story?

How is it that the days in the summer are longer however they seem to totally fly by? I swear I’m just running out of days/time to get things done!  Aaron and I have some lofty goals this summer…. 1. Finish phase two of the kitchen remodel (that means build the dishwasher case, the over-the-stove microwave hutch, and replace the counter top and sink 2. Build more storage in the basement (more on that later) 3. Reorganize the office so I have my own desktop computer and filing space 4. Finish off the patio and make the repairs (Miss Leala thought that digging up the corner of the patio seemed like a good idea this winter!)

So many projects so little time!  So I’ve resorted to a tried-and-true method of getting things done… LISTS!  Every week I list out each day and what essential things need to happen on that day for us to move forward with our projects.  I’ve also included other essential tasks (vacuuming, dusting, etc since I tend to forget to do those types of things when I get busy) and I’ve included our daily meal plan.  I started planning out my dinners every week a few months ago and I’ve found it to be super helpful!  I track all my meals on MyFitnessPal and ever since I have started meal planning I’ve been able to make smarter meal choices and our grocery bill has gone down!  I used to find myself throwing out rotten produce every week.  I would buy it with the best of intentions but due to lack of planning I usually never got around to using it and ended wasting it.  It was like throwing dollar bills straight into the trash!  Ever since I started meal planning, I only buy what produce I know I will need that week for my meals.  It isn’t 100% perfect but I’m far better than I used to be 🙂

Well – that is my sermon on meal planning 🙂 Moving on…

I have been using these weekly lists and find such satisfaction when I cross everything off at the end of the night! I know there are fancy apps out there that will make lists for you… and honestly I have one.. Aaron prefers it since he is a tech geek but I just LOVE the feeling of physically writing out then CROSSING OFF my lists!

In addition to all our house goals, I also am working in some dedicated work out time (6x per week).  I recently signed up to run the Des Moines Half-Marathon which will take place in October 2012.  I will preface this by saying I am not a “natural runner”… I don’t love it.. it usually hurts me.. I struggle the whole way.. yet I have signed up and paid my money so I’ll be damned if I don’t learn how to run it and make it happen!  My trainer has given me a running plan that will gradually get me up to running a half-marathon and I started last week.  October seems so far away but starting early and building slowly will hopefully help eliminate any injuries and lead to lasting habits. Today was a “long” run… 5 miles!  I haven’t ran 5 miles in probably 10+ years!  I won’t lie, I was a bit intimidated by the idea of it.  However, I am happy to report that I ran those 5 miles without stopping this evening and even felt pretty good afterwards.  Which is probably a good sign since I have to run 6 miles on Sunday!  Leala joined me tonight as well but I think 5 miles is her max… she is totally pooped out!  I was even ambitious enough to follow-up my 5 miles with some ab work and Pilates (all signs point to the fact that I will likely be very sore tomorrow).  My trainer always reminds me of one thing “you never regret working out when you’re done”.  She is so right!  I never regret spending that hour doing something that is good for my body.  Sure, it is hard to get motivated to get going, especially when we have so much to do around the house or at work or now with Mary Kay but I never regret finding time to fit it in when I’m done.  (and hopefully one day soon those last few pounds will melt away – wishful thinking????)

What motivates you when you don’t want to get going on something?  Do you ever regret the time you spend doing something for yourself?  Whether it is taking a walk, getting a manicure, or just finding time to have coffee with an old friend, I find these activities usually energize me and just generally brighten my day!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Busy, Busy, Busy

  1. Julie on said:

    I love your blog Katie!!! GREAT job on the run. My friends at work are what motivate me, especially when it comes to working out. If I didn’t have the “usual gang” that attend the workout classes with me each day, I wouldn’t go nearly as often.

Please feel free to leave me a comment!

